An individual must be 21 to purchase or consume alcohol on a licensed premises. However, an individual under the age of 21 can consume alcohol if for religious reasons or under the supervision of a legal guardian at home.
A New Jersey resident over the age of 21 may engage in the personal manufacture (or home brewing) of up to 200 gallons of wine or malt alcoholic beverage (beer) for personal or household use or consumption. A permit is no longer necessary for this activity.
In certain circumstances, home brewing is also permissible outside the home if the site of brewing is an authorized “noncommercial” premises and is a licensed instructional facility. A permit is required for this activity.
Can non-licensed establishments allow BYOB? (Bring your own beer)
For the most part, yes. Unless local ordinance forbids it, establishments may allow customers to bring beer or wine.
If I go to a restaurant and order a bottle of wine and don’t finish it, can I take it home with me?
Yes. The Garden State, in fact, encourages this in order to promote responsible drinking. The state would rather you finish it later than feel obligated to finish at the moment. They find that this reduces drunk driving.
Can parents be held responsible for their kids when caught drinking?
Yes. Parents are expected to provide reasonable supervision for minors under the age of 18. Parents can be subject to a $500 fine for minors who get caught drinking multiple times.
Drive-up Windows at alcohol-selling establishments?
The Garden State does NOT allow the sale of alcohol at drive-up windows.
New Jersey does not allow open containers of alcohol in motor vehicles regardless of whether the driver or passengers are intoxicated. This can range from a $200 fine to 10 days of community service.
How late can I order liquor in New Jersey?
Alcohol sale hours are generally left to local governments, so check your local government website for specific details. The only state law regarding hours is the sale of packaged distilled liquor, which is 9am-10pm.
For more information on New Jersey liquor laws, visit: http://www.nj.gov/lps/abc/faqs.html
New Jersey DUI Laws and Resources
A DUI in New Jersey can be quite serious. It can bring large fines, license suspension, and even jail time even for first-time offenses. In New Jersey, you can refuse to take a chemical test. This results in an automatic 7-month license revocation for the first offense, a 2-year revocation for the 2nd offense, and a 10-year revocation for the 3rd offense. For more details on New Jersey DUI laws, visit: https://dui.drivinglaws.org/jersey.php
If you get a DUI in New Jersey, it is wise to sign up for a DUI class as soon as possible. This could make you look willing to cooperate with the court and that you are taking responsibility for your actions. Here is more information on classes: https://www.alcoholdrugclass.com/New-Jersey-Drug-Alcohol-Classes.aspx
In New Jersey, a DUI can be charged for a person under 21 years of age if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02% or higher. For commercial drivers, it is .04%. For regular driving adults, it is .08%. To better understand BAC, here is a BAC calculator: https://dui.drivinglaws.org/calc.php
It may also help your case to attend an addiction treatment program. This can show the judge that you are actively trying to better your life and have a problem that you need to fix. This isn’t to say all people who get a DUI should receive addiction treatment, but if you believe you do in fact have a drinking problem, then treatment could help your case as well as help you turn your life around. Give us a call to learn about the first steps in the alcohol addiction treatment process. Our helpline is toll-free and available 24 hours a day.